Doctoral Research and Training in Mechatronics

The GAANN Fellows will be able to choose their Ph.D. dissertation research from a variety of topics in Mechatronics, including, but not limited to, the following: 

  • Brain-Computer Interfaces
  • Human-Assistive Robotics
  • Autonomous Soft Robotics
  • Sensing and Control for Additive Manufacturing
  • Intelligent Energy Systems


  • Financial support that includes a stipend of up to $34,000 per year (determined by FAFSA)
  • Educational allowance up to $15,750 that covers all educational expenses, including tuition and fees and the cost of textbooks and other materials, computer hardware and software, travel expenditures and registration fees for participation in conferences
  • Mentoring by one or more of the GAANN faculty, as well as industry mentors who include successful alumni of previous GAANN programs
  • Supervised teaching experience, which will be preceded by training in effective teaching techniques
  • Opportunities for peer mentoring and community outreach

Required application documents

  • Name
  • Email address
  • Unofficial transcripts (undergraduate, and if applicable, graduate)
  • Resume
  • One page statement of how a doctoral degree will fit into your future plans


Dr. Douglas A. Bristow 
Program Director
292 Toomey HallRolla, MO 65409
573-341-4625 |

Ready to apply?

Apply to the mechanical engineering or the aerospace engineering doctoral programs at and send the program director the required documents and info to apply for the GAANN fellowship.

Underrepresented students are especially encouraged to apply.


Eligibility requirements include the following:

  • Have demonstrated financial need determined by FAFSA
  • Are a citizen or permanent resident of the United States
  • Are accepted into the regular or direct (i.e. straight from B.S.) Ph.D. program in Mechanical Engineering or Aerospace Engineering
  • Have an excellent academic record
  • Are planning a career in teaching and/or research

Participating Faculty

Douglas Bristow

Ming Leu

Yun Seong Song

Xiangyang Dong 

Frank Liou

K. Krishnamurthy

Jonghyun Park